Edmonton’s 2018 Hall of Fame inductees announced

Date: Mar 23, 2018

The City of Edmonton and the Salute to Excellence Council are proud to announce Edmonton’s 2018 Hall of Fame inductees:

Arts & Culture Hall of Fame

  • Raymond Baril (musician and educator)
  • Steven Le Poole (cultivator of music and music education)
  • Allan Scott (cultural ambassador and benefactor of the Art Gallery of Alberta)
  • Shelley Switzer (artistic producer, Edmonton International Street Performers Festival)

Inductees were honoured at the Salute to Excellence Hall of Fame induction ceremony on June 11, 7:30 p.m. at the Francis Winspear Centre for Music. This free event featured local musical acts and entertainment.

"These individuals have provided a lifetime of exemplary service and personal effort to strengthen our communities and the reputation of the city," said Mayor Don Iveson. "It’s my great honour to help recognize their accomplishments and be part of their induction to the Edmonton Hall of Fame."

For the past 67 years, Salute to Excellence, led by a volunteer council of representatives, has been honouring exceptional individuals and groups whose work in arts and culture, community service and sports have improved the quality of life in Edmonton. The City’s Hall of Fame was established in 1951 and now holds over 400 influential Edmontonians. 

See all 2018 inductees.