Call for Nominations | Governor General’s Awards in Visual and Media Arts

Date: Apr 13, 2021

Deadline: Jun 1, 2021 - 9:45 pm

The call for nominations is now open for the Governor General’s Awards in Visual and Media Arts.

About the Awards

The awards were created in 1999 by the Canada Council for the Arts and the Governor General of Canada. Since then, the awards have celebrated Canada’s vibrant arts community and recognized remarkable careers in the visual and media arts.

Up to eight awards are distributed every year: six awards recognize artistic achievements, one award recognizes excellence in fine craft (Saidye Bronfman Award) and one award recognizes an outstanding contribution to contemporary visual arts, media arts or fine craft. The winners each receive a medallion and a cash prize of $25,000 each.

The GGArts awards are part of the Canada Council’s suite of prizes recognizing excellence in the arts.

Prize amount

$25,000 each

Up to 8 awards are given annually:

  • 6 Artistic Achievement
  • 1 Saidye Bronfman Award
  • 1 Outstanding Contribution



Nomination Form (DOC)

Updated guidelines will be posted 2 months prior to the deadline.

You can submit a nomination to

Deadline is June 1.