Nominations open for the Prairie Grindstone Prize

Date: Mar 13, 2023

Deadline: Apr 15, 2023 - 11:45 pm

Nominate A Deserving Writer

In this inaugural year, The Prairie Grindstone Prize invites members of the writing community to nominate a deserving Alberta writer.

Simply write a letter of nomination including the following:

  • Writer’s relationship to the nominator
  • A one page (no longer) letter explaining why this Alberta writer should be awarded and send it to at
  • Nomination Deadline: April 15, 2023
  • Winner will be announced on June 1, 2023

 Learn more about the Prairie Grindstone Prize.

*This is not a book prize. It is awarded in acknowledgement of the author’s creation of a body of work of consistent high quality that has contributed to the public’s appreciation for and understanding of Western Canada’s landscape, people, history and culture.

  • The writer must be a resident of the province for the past five years.
  • Must have a minimum of four professionally published books.
  • Must be an active member of the local writing community. Authors may not self nominate and recipients will be selected by a jury of peers.