And the Nominees Are...

Date: Mar 17, 2021

2021 Alberta Juno Nominees

Congratulations are in order for the Alberta musicians who are up for a Juno Award this year! The nominations were announced on March 9, 2022, and once again, talented Albertans are on the list.

This year's nominees from Alberta are:

  • Brett Kissel, Single of the Year
  • Jann Arden, Canadian Music Hall of Fame Inductee
  • July Talk, Alternative Album of the Year
  • Lindsay Ell, Country Album of the Year
  • Luminous Voices conducted by Timothy Shantz, Classical Album of the Year Vocal or Choral 
  • MacKenzie Porter, Country Album of the Year
  • Tate McRae*, Fan Choice Award and Breakthrough Artist of the Year
  • Tenille Townes, Country Album of the Year

The winners will be announced on May 16, 2021.

Edmonton Music Prize Finalists

The Top 3 for the 2020 Edmonton Music Prize has been determined, from a longlist of 10 artists! This is the ninth year that the prize has been offered, and it awards $12,000 in prize money to Edmonton-based musicians or musical collectives who have released a full-length recording in the past 18 months. The award is sponsored by the City of Edmonton through the Edmonton Arts Council and administered by Alberta Music. 

The first place winner will take home $10,000, and two runner-up prizes of $1,000 each will be awarded. Results will be announced virtually on March 22, 2021 from The Starlite Room.

The Top 3, in alphabetical order:

  • Farhad Khosravi*
  • Lucette
  • Lyra Brown*

Longlist artists: 

  • 100 Mile House*
  • Bad Buddy 
  • Beppie*
  • Farhad Khosravi
  • Joe Nolan*
  • Lucette
  • Lyra Brown
  • Mac MillOn
  • Marlaena Moore*
  • Nuela Charles*


* AFA funded artist